Patriot Pen and Voice of Democracy winners

December 28, 2021

Congratulations to the winners of the VFW Patriot Pen Essay Contest. They are: 1st Place ($200) Hannah E. Smith; 2nd Place ($100) Brooklyn G. Bookout; 3rd Place ($ 50) Finley L. Puricelli; 4th Place ($25) Kenzi A. Coffey; 5th Place ($25) Eli LoGrasso; 6th Place ($25) Jordan J. Kessler. All six winners advanced to district for judging. An enormous thank you goes out to Franklin Park Middle School, Salem, Illinois students and staff where 101 students participated in the essay contest. A special thank you to Nicole Rexilius for her guidance and promotion of this program. Every year the VFW has an essay competition for high school students. Here are the winners of VFW Post 2055 who advanced to judging at the District level. 1st Place, Elise Paige Johnston (Christ Our Rock High); 2nd Place, Sarah E. McKown (Christ Our Rock High); 3rd Place, Sarah Catherine Hentges (Nashville Community High). VFW# Post 2055 congratulates these local winners and wishes them luck at District.

Pictured (L to R) are Patriot Pen winners LoGrasso, Bookout, Coffey, Puricelli, Kessler, and Smith.

Comments are closed