Okawville FFA attends National FFA Convention

November 11, 2022

Okawville FFA members attended the 95th National FFA Convention and Expo in Indianapolis Indiana from October 27-29. The group left at 5:30 am on the 27th and headed for Indianapolis. Once arrived they met up with Mr. Meyer, their student teacher, and got to explore the Expo with all their vendors, there were all sorts of colleges and agricultural businesses there to recruit students and provide information about the more than 300 careers available in the agricultural industry. They attended the 2nd General Session which included awards and a retiring address by National FFA Secretary Jackson Sylvester. After checking into the hotel they ate dinner at Texas Roadhouse and went to the Haunted Conservatory in Garfield Park.

On October 28th members attended the 4th General Session at Lucas Oil Stadium. There Mr. Berg received his Honorary American FFA Degree. In addition to more awards National FFA Eastern Region Vice President Mallory White gave her retiring address and former National FFA Officer Coty Black provided a keynote speech. After the 4th session, Okawville went to explore the Expo once again, then ate lunch together. They also visited the headquarters of FFA, the National FFA Center. That evening FFA members attended the World’s Toughest Rodeo at the Indiana State Fairgrounds.

On October 29th FFA members attended the American Degree ceremony. There they watched fellow members Nathan Lintker and Caleb Unverfehrt receive their American FFA Degrees. Lintker and Unverfehrt’s families attended to watch them received the highest individual honor provided by the FFA. They are the 10th and 11th members to receive the American FFA Degree from Okawville. Lintker is the son of Dennis and Christine Lintker of rural Venedy, and Unverfehrt is the son of James and Lori Unverfehrt of rural Okawville.

After Lintker and Unverfehrt received their degrees, Okawville FFA said goodbye to Mr. Meyer and headed home. FFA members attending the trip included Ryland Helbig, Dillon Teter, Owen Borrenpohl, Paige Riechmann, Madison Gogolek, Hayden Hagarty, Reid Hemann, Shane Klasing, Jacob Funk, Lily Helbig, and Maggie Boecklen. Advisor Joshua Berg and student teacher Jacob Meyer chaperoned the group.

Pictured above (L to R) Okawville FFA at the National FFA Center (L to R): Student Teacher Jacob Meyer, Okawville FFA members Shane Klasing, Reid Hemann, Owen Borrenpohl, Ryland Helbig, Hayden Hagarty, Dillon Teter, Jacob Funk, Maggie Boecklen, Madison Gogolek, Lily Helbig, Paige Riechmann, and Advisor Joshua Berg.

American FFA Degree Recipients: Nathan Lintker and Caleb Unverfehrt.

Comments are closed