Nashville FFA Sends Seven to State Proficiency Contest

March 23, 2023

By Avery Piasecki, Chapter Reporter

Nineteen members of the Nashville FFA Chapter headed to Mt. Vernon on March 8 to compete in the District V Proficiency Competition. To advance to District, members are required to place first at the Section Proficiency contest in February. The Agricultural Proficiency Awards honor FFA members who, through their Supervised Agriculture Experience (SAE), have developed specialized skills that they can apply toward their future careers. Students can compete for awards in approximately 50 areas covering everything from Agricultural Communications to Wildlife Management. Most award areas have two categories, placement and entrepreneurship. Placement proficiency awards are based on SAEs that are related to employment, apprenticeships, or internships at an agribusiness or agriculture-related organization. Entrepreneurship proficiency awards are based on SAEs that are related to ownership of an agribusiness or agricultural production enterprises. Proficiency awards are given out at the section, district, state, and national levels.

Placings at the District competition were: Avery Piasecki, Ag Communications; Gracen Hoffman, Dairy Production Ent; Talan Robinson, Environmental Science and Natural Resource Management; Joel Bergamnn, Forest Management and Products; Garrett Williamson, Poultry Production; Kaiden Boester, Swine Production Management; Erica Kujawa, SOE Finance and Business.

Additionally, members that placed second included: Bradley Bowers, Diversified Crop Production Placement; Hudson Jones, Wildlife Production and Management; Collin Rolf, Vegetable Production; Aden Wisely, Forage Production; Jada Winka, Diversified Ag Production; Sarah Hentges, Agricultural Processing; Garrett Williamson, Star Ag Farmer.

Members who placed first at this contest will advance to the State Proficiency Contest that will be held on March 24 in Decatur.

Pictured (L to R): Gracen Hoffman, Kaiden Boester, Erica Kujawa, Talan Robinson, Garrett Willamson, Joel Bergmann, Avery Piasecki.

Comments are closed