JCCC holds 98th annual dinner

April 10, 2019

By Tina Suarez

The 98th Jefferson County Chamber of Commerce Dinner was held on March 29 at the Double Tree by Hilton Hotel in Mt. Vernon.
All attendees began to arrive around 5 p.m. They were registered in and then were given the opportunity to mingle with all attendees during the cocktail hour. During the cocktail hour music was provided by Brett Gibbs, Chris Gibbs and Rolland Mays.
Everyone was seated at 6:00 with the evening being opened by Chamber President Tony Weilt welcoming everyone. The invocation was done by Chris Grigg.
Weilt gave an update on his years of service as the chamber president. He spoke on the growth of the chamber and the involvement they have throughout the community. He spoke on how the volunteerism has reached its highest level in several years. As a matter of fact, the chamber has been recognized as the IACCE Outstanding Chamber of the Year. To be recognized at the state level is impressive, but it didn’t just happen by filling out a form. Mike Beard has created and led the organization in an environment that the business community wants to get out and get involved in.
Tony Weilt continued the evening by recognizing retiring board member Stacy Tate and retiring vice presidents Melanie Andrews, Brandon Bullard, Joe Gliosci, Alletta Lawrence, and Larry Lyday. Weilt introduced Chamber Director Mike Beard to give the director’s report.
Weilt then introduced the Young Professional of the Year nominees. They were Lacey Copple, Matt Sweetin and Josh Esser, with the winner being Josh Esser.
Alletta Lawrence came to the podium to introduce both the winners of the teachers in the classroom grants as well as the students of the year. This year’s teacher winners were: Tori Hartman, Dana Hall, Terri Helm, Stasey Rightnowar, Laura Kapp and Marjorie Stricklin. The student of the year winners were: Rachel Beckham, Priyanka Kaushal and Gatlin Miller.
Vice President Melanie Andrews presented Sharon Francois with the Ambassador of the Year award.
Joe Gliosci was next to come to the podium to introduce Linola Spann as the Citizen of the Year, and Sharon Bradham, who received the President’s Award.
Larry Lyday introduced Mario Hodge from Parkway Shoe Repair as the Small Business of the Year runner up with Mike Carbonaro of the Doubletree by Hilton the winner.
The evening was closed with the passing of the gavel from Tony Weilt to the new chamber president, Brandon Bullard.