Salem High School Participates in KC Honor Choir Concert

January 11, 2018
One hundred and sixty students from 9 area high schools made the trip to Kaskaskia College to take part in the Kaskaskia College Honor Choir and Holiday Concert. This concert marks the second year for this event with the students rehearsing with KC Professor Lynda Marshall during the day and joining the college choirs to present the Holiday Concert in the evening.
The concert featured traditional holiday carols and music representative from all over the world. The High School Honor Choir presented a variety of classic and multicultural holiday selections including a medieval Spanish carol, a Liberian spiritual, a song based on the Norwegian landscape, and “Hallelujah” from Handel’s Messiah.
Once the students arrived at Kaskaskia College, they began their day in full rehearsal with Professor Marshall and then were then divided into sectional groups which allowed them to focus on individual choral parts. The sectional groups were led by local high school directors, Jami Hodges (Centralia High School), Erika Register (Carlyle High School), Eric Chrostoski (Breese Central Community High School), and Zachary Rhines (Mascoutah High School).
The students first met their conductor in the Jane Knight Auditorium at 9:00 a.m. and worked throughout the day to prepare the four pieces that they performed during their 7:00 p.m. performance. The Honor Choir students were joined in their performance by the Kaskaskia College Concert Choir, KC Blues, and Community Chorale under the direction of Professor Lynda Marshall. In addition, the visiting students were treated to an afternoon performance by the Kaskaskia College Concert Choir and KC Blues.
Area High Schools participating include: Breese Central, Carlyle, Centralia, Christ Our Rock, Mascoutah, Mater Dei, Salem, Sandoval, and Vandalia.
Students participating from Salem are:  1st row – Isabell Murphy, Amanda WIlliams, Jessica Porter, Lyndsey Easley , Tierra Lawson, Tiarra Kinchloe.  2nd row – Cameron Simmons, Gracie Roberts, Katherine Young, Kori Arnold, Kaidlyn Bullard,  3rd row – Kristin Bailey, Kaeleb Bargh, Hannah Murphy.  4th row – Chelsey Respondek, Kathryn Lerro, Benjamin Barcroft, Cadyn Guard, and Dawson Deckard.