Morgan Dodson Selected as 2014 AFA Scholars

May 21, 2014

Morgan Dodson Selected as 2014 AFA Scholars

For the 12th consecutive year the Washington County Agriculture Future of America (AFA) Community Partnership has been very successful, awarding $44,800 to local Washington County students since 2003.

The selection committee recently conducted applicant interviews and announced that the 2014 recipient of the AFA Community Scholarship is Morgan Dodson from Nashville. Ms. Dodson graduates this May from Nashville High School and plans to continue her education by studying agriculture at Kaskaskia College this fall, and eventually transferring to Southern Illinois University in Carbondale (SIU-C) to earn her Bachelor’s Degree in Agricultural Communications.

By being selected as an AFA Community Scholarship recipient, Morgan will be receiving a $3,200 academic scholarship, an all-expense paid trip to the AFA Leaders Conference in November, and internship opportunities from numerous agriculture corporations throughout the world. This conference is an outstanding experience for any student. The three and a half-day event will help prepare Morgan for a career in agriculture by gaining valuable insight on topics such as personal development, communication skills, careers, and agricultural issues. She will also gain knowledge on preparing a resume and have the chance to interview with various Ag businesses.

Through the past year, approximately 30 businesses and individuals across Washington County donated the necessary $2,500 to fund half of the scholarship and conference fees to again make this wonderful opportunity available to local students. A big thank you goes out to all of our local businesses that have invested in the education of our future leaders!

The Washington County Farm Bureau’s Foundation is the administrator of the AFA Community Scholarship. “We believe Morgan will be an excellent ambassador for agriculture as Washington County’s AFA scholarship recipient,” said Foundation Chairman Jeff Lehde. “She has the opportunity to help this program continue to grow and prosper.”

Previous AFA Community Scholarship winners include: Elijah Liske of Okawville and Emily Schwartzkopf of Nashville in 2013, Kerri Ibendahl of Oakdale in 2012, Ryan Haake and Mitchell Eickmeyer (both of Hoyleton) in 2011, Greg Guest of Nashville in 2010, Morgan Reid of Nashville in 2009, Ross Recker of Venedy in 2008, Alex Eade of Addieville in 2007, Brittany Brammeier of Okawville in 2006, Erin Cathcart of Nashville in 2005, Aubrey Prest of Marissa in 2004, and Jeff Jacobs of Okawville in 2003.