Low Income Home Energy Assistance Begins

October 12, 2015

The Illinois Department of Commerce and Economic Opportunity has announced that Crosswalk Community Action Agency, headquartered in West Frankfort, will be administering the Low Income Home Energy Assistance Program (LIHEAP) for Franklin, Jefferson and Williamson Counties. The program, which provides financial assistance to eligible households to help pay a portion of their winter heating bills, will begin on Thursday, Oct. 1, 2015.

Eligibility is based upon GROSS income for the thirty days prior to the date of application and is $1,471 for one person household, $1,991 for two person households, $2,511 for three person households and $3,031 for four person households. The first month of the program (October) will be a priority period for the income eligible elderly (age 60 and over) and disabled (must be drawing disability income).

The first step in receiving energy assistance is to visit the outreach site in your county and make an appointment so an application can be made at a later date.

Appointments started being distributed on Thursday, Oct. 1, 2015. For those who could not be at the outreach site on Oct. 1 there will still be appointments available and those eligible can still go to the location, in their county, and receive an appointment. Keep in mind funds are limited this program year. It is recommended that only one person per household should come to make an appointment. This will make the line shorter and should provide faster service.

On Tuesday, December 1, 2015, all other households meeting the income guidelines will be eligible to get an appointment on a first-come, first-serve basis.

Also, any eligible household that is disconnected from their utility or who is at or below 25% on a delivered fuel and can not get a delivery on their own, may qualify for re-connection assistance. Emergency re-connection appointments will start Monday, November 2, 2013.

If there are any questions, please call Crosswalk’s Main Office at 618-937-3581 and speak to someone in the LIHEAP Department. Please do not call the Man-Tra-Con soffice or Department of Human Services office.
You may also call one of the numbers listed below to get recorded program information.

Outreach Locations
Franklin County:
Crosswalk (Main Office), 410 W. Main, W. Frankfort, 618-937-3581.

Jefferson County:
IL Dept. of Human Services, 333 Potomac Blvd., Suite F, Mt. Vernon, 618- 244-4858.

Williamson County:
Man-Tra-Con Corp., 3000 W. DeYoung, Suite 800-B, Marion, 618-998-9023.