LIHEAP Program Begins

September 6, 2016

The Illinois Department of Commerce and Economic Opportunity has announced that Crosswalk Community Action Agency, headquartered in West Frankfort, will be administering the Low Income Home Energy Assistance Program (LIHEAP) for Franklin, Jefferson and Williamson Counties. The program which provides financial assistance to eligible households to help pay a portion of their winter heating bills began on Thursday, Sept. 1, 2016. Eligibility is based on gross income for the thirty days prior to the date of application and is $1,485 for one person household, $2,003 for two person households, $2,520 for three person households and $3,038 for four person households. The first two (2) months of the program (Sept. & Oct.) will be a priority period for the income eligible elderly (age 60 and over) and disabled.

The first step in receiving energy assistance is to visit the outreach site in your county and make an appointment so an application can be made at a later date. Appointments started being distributed on Sept. 1. For those who were unable to be at the outreach site on Sept. 1 there will still be appointments available, and those eligible can still go to the location in their county and receive an appointment.

It is recommended that only one person per household come to make an appointment. This will make the line shorter and should provide faster service. On Tuesday, Nov. 1, 2016, all other households meeting the income guidelines will be eligible to get an appointment on a first-come, first-serve basis.

Also, any eligible household that is disconnected from their utility or who is at or below 25% on a delivered fuel and can not get a delivery on their own may qualify for re-connection assistance. Emergency re-connection appointments will start Monday. Oct. 3. 2012.

If there are any questions, call Crosswalk’s Main Office at 618-937-3581 and speak to someone in the LIHEAP department. Do not call the IL Dept. of Human Services. You may also call one of the numbers listed below to get recorded program information.

Outreach Locations:
Franklin County, Crosswalk Main Office, 410 W. Main, W. Frankfort, 618-937-3581.
Jefferson County, IL Dept. of Human Services, 333 Potomac Blvd., Suite F, Mt. Vernon, 618-244-4858.