CORLHS National Honor Society Inducts 11 Members

October 2, 2018

A total of 11 students participated in the Sept. 27 National Honor Society induction ceremony held at Christ Our Rock Lutheran High School. The induction brings the chapter membership to 23 students for the school year.

New members inducted were juniors Esther Belli, Emily Crompton, Mandy Fields, Ian Gazdik, Jamie Gogolek, Nolan Heard, Lydia Kangas, Jenna Kleiboeker, Madison Reynolds, Caitlynn Smith and Jillian Zvonar

Guest speaker for the ceremony was Rev. Eric Wood of Immanuel Lutheran Church in Okawville. Pastor Wood shared his wisdom and experiences with the students during the evening. Prior to accepting the call to Okawville in 2011, he was involved with campus ministries in Kansas and also at Southern Illinois University-Carbondale.

Don Duensing, executive director of Christ Our Rock, opened the meeting with prayer and delivered the welcoming address. NHS adviser Wilfred Pennington introduced each inductee and presented them with a certificate, membership card and NHS pin.

Chapter President Madylin Kroeger gave a brief update on chapter activities. During the previous school year, the chapter were servers for the Trinity Lutheran Friendship Guild dinner held at Trinity Lutheran Church in Centralia. The chapter also helped serve at the Centralia First Baptist Church’s annual pancake breakfast, held in October.

Other chapter officers include Nathan Gardner, vice president; Jennifer Johnson, secretary; and Mollee Eickmeyer, treasurer. The four officers participated in the official candle lighting portion of the ceremony.

The core values of NHS are scholarship, leadership, character and service. All members must maintain a 3.5 or higher GPA and have performed at least 40 hours of volunteer service prior to induction. In addition to an outstanding academic record, the CORLHS students selected for National Honor Society membership have also displayed strengths in leadership and responsibility. All are active in their school, community and/or respective church homes.

The National Honor Society was created in 1921 by the National Association of Secondary School Principals. The society was the vision of Edward Rynearson, a Nebraska high school principal. His idea was to create a nationwide organization that would create an enthusiasm for scholarship, stimulate a desire to render service, promote worthy leadership and encourage the development of character in the nation’s secondary schools.

Pictured above: Seventeen were inducted on Sept. 27 into the Christ Our Rock Lutheran High School chapter of the National Honor Society. Seated, front row, FROM LEFT, are Emily Crompton, Jenna Kleiboeker, Madison Reynolds, Caitlynn Smith, Jillian Zvonar and Esther Belli; back row, FROM LEFT, Rev. Eric Wood, guest speaker; Wilfred Pennington, chapter adviser; Lydia Kangas, Jamie Gogolek, Mandy Fields, Nolan Heard, Ian Gazdik and Don Duensing, principal and executive director of Christ Our Rock.