Christ Our Rock Awards Night

June 19, 2015

Annual event recognizes academic, athletic achievement

Christ Our Rock Lutheran High School honored its seniors and other outstanding students during its 11th annual Awards Night held May 8 in the school gymnasium.

Reid Michael of Centralia was honored as the valedictorian of the 2015 graduating class. with Sabrina Maschhoff of Carlyle holding the honor of salutatorian.

Faith Dahlquist of Centralia received one of the evening’s highest honors, the Exemplum Christi Award, bestowed upon the student who best exemplifies Christ throughout the year. Dahlquist also received the faith-based Discipleship Award, an honor which Miss Dahlquist has been accorded by her classmates for the last four years.

Senior Summer Mengarelli of Greenville was selected as the Student of the Year. This award goes to the student who has achieved the highest level of academic success. Seniors Kayli Brandt of Carlyle and Grant Edwards of Woodlawn shared the Spirit Award honors this year.

A student from each class was awarded discipleship honors, selected by their classmates for displaying a reverent attitude toward God, demonstrating concern for others and a positive spirit, and proving trustworthy and responsible. In addition to Dahlquist, recipients of this year’s Discipleship Awards, were Abigail Dunavan of Dix from the freshman class; Anna Krenz, Hoffman, from the sophomore class; and Sicily Gans of Centralia from the junior class.

Senior Mia DeBernardi of Centralia received the Centralia Sunrise Rotary Award while Irvin Funeral Home’s Eagle Award went to senior Caleb Boehne of Centralia.

Various departmental awards were also announced during the evening, as well as recognition of student involvement in the various extra-curricular activities. Departmental award recipients included Summer Mengarelli of Greenville, English; Jude Stockstill of Centralia, technological arts; Lexi Cole, Centralia, physical education; Samantha Bennett, Woodlawn, science; Mitch Kroeger, Centralia, theology; Dawn Shanafelt, Odin, art; Kailey Warner, Woodlawn, mathematics; Megan Ruckman, Kinmundy, foreign language; and Shannon Edler, Centralia, music and Sabrina Maschoff, Carlyle, business and accounting.

Academic Excellence awards were given to those students who earned a 4.0 grade point average throughout this school year. Fourteen students accomplished this impressive feat: freshmen Caroline Boehne, Centralia; Corinne DeBoard, Centralia; Abigail Dunavan, Dix; Samantha Fatheree, Centralia; Hannah Klockenga, Kell; and Chelsey Varela, Centralia; sophomores Lexi Cole of Centralia and Anna Krenz of Hoffman; juniors Samantha Bennett, Woodlawn; Hope Brinkmann, Hoyleton; Heath Rutledge-Jukes, Bluford; Mollie Rueter, Hoffman; Dawn Shanafelt , Odin; and Kailey Warner of Woodlawn; seniors Mitchell Kroeger, Centralia; Sabrina Maschhoff, Carlyle; Summer Mengarelli, Greenville; and Reid Michael, Centralia.

Karly Nottmeyer of Centralia was honored with the Most Improved Student Award.

Athletic Integrity awards were given out based on the vote of entire team for any given sport or extracurricular activity. Recipients included Rion Hill, scholastic bowl; Joel Krenz, soccer and also track and field; Sabrina Maschhoff, volleyball and girls basketball; Mitchell Kroeger, golf; Caleb Boehne, boys basketball and baseball; Mia DeBernardi, cheerleading; Kayli Brandt and H.A. Evans, swim team; and Caroline Boehne, softball.

Ten students earned perfect attendance honors. Those honored were freshmen Devin Brammeier of Addieville, and Chelsey Varela of Centralia; sophomores Anna Krenz of Hoffman, and Maddie Haake of Centralia; juniors Hope Brinkmann of Hoyleton, and Rion Hill of Hoffman; and seniors, Maria Hayes, Odin; Gary Mattson, Centralia; Sarah Michael, Carlyle; and Jude Stockstill, Centralia. Sarah Michael was recognized for achieving perfect attendance for all four years of her high school career.


Christ Our Rock Lutheran High School honored its seniors and other outstanding students during its 11th annual Awards Night held May 8 in the school gymnasium.


Discipleship awards were awarded to, FROM LEFT, Abigail Dunavan, freshman; Anna Krenz, sophomore; Sicily Gans, junior; and Faith Dahlquist, senior.


Recipients of this year’s “Big Three” awards were, FROM LEFT, Faith Dahlquist, Exemplum de Christi award; Kayli Brandt and Grant Edwards, Spirit Award co-recipients; and Summer Mengarelli, Student of the Year.