Area Schools Participate in 6th Annual Honor Band

April 24, 2014
Area Schools Participate in 6th Annual Honor BandKaskaskia College recently hosted its 6th Annual Honor Band Concert with eleven area high school students participating. The event was held Thursday, April 10 in the Jane Knight Auditorium with guest conductor Dr. Kenneth Steinsultz. The concert also featured the Kaskaskia College Concert Band conducted by Cliff Jourdan. The concert was free and open to the public.

This was the sixth year for KC to host the event which provided an opportunity for local students to work with and learn from a nationally known educator. Students were selected based upon information submitted by their directors; specifically their musical abilities and general commitment to music.

Honor Band Selections were: Flourish For Wind Band by R. Vaughan Williams, The Light Eternal by James Swearingen, Butterly’s Ball by Ryan Fraley, Song for Lyndsay by Andrew Boysen, and Hosts of Freedom March by Karl L. King.

This year’s performance also included a percussion ensemble performing Curse of Tortuga by Chris Crockarell with Professor Susan Bjork as the Conductor.

The KC Concert Band also performed.

Pictured are the participating students from Centralia. 1st row – Francis Ray, Haley Parson, Rebekah Mondy. 2nd row – Kelly Casner, Ethan Peeck, Kristen Littleton, Arielle McCormick, Hailey Kingston. 3rd row – Miranda Martin, Lynsey McNew, Erika Wrzesinski, Bryan Ford. 4throw – Alex Rademacher, Cameron Nollman, Alexis Marcum, Ben Ashby, and Mr. Sean Cartner. Not pictured is John Betterton, Jr.

Pictured are the participating students from Sandoval. 1st row – Samantha Brown, Justin Bottomley, Zach Butts, Susan Kingston. 2nd row – Luke Hill, Cody Kingston, Matt Beshon, Cheyenne Slone, and Antonio Bacilio.
Pictured are the participating students from South Central. 1st row – Morgan Kramer, Macy Sullens, Ella Jahraus, Summer Purcell. 2nd row – Mr. Blake Korte and Jon Jahraus.
Pictured are the participating students from Christ Our Rock: Cassie DeBord, Shannon Edler and Madi Quinn.