Okawville High Students Attend Career Day

May 7, 2018

On April 27th, Kaskaskia College hosted a Career Day for the programs offered at the Harry L. Crisp Technology Center.  These programs include Carpentry, Industrial Electricity, Drafting/Construction Project Management, Heating, Ventilation and Air Conditioning (HVAC), Welding and Truck Driving.

Students from area secondary schools in the college district were invited to attend the Crisp Technology Career Day, which was a wonderful opportunity for students to obtain information to assist them in making career choices as they begin to prepare for their college education.  With the growing shortage in the Career and Technical Education fields, this was a valuable opportunity for students to learn about the various job opportunities available upon graduating with a two-year degrees along with job salaries in the industry.

Included in the Career Day was a tour and program demonstrations with the following instructors providing demonstrations: Corey Wellen, Welding; Pete Donnelly, Carpentry; Rob Jervis, Drafting/Construction Project Management; Lyle Gross, Industrial Technology and Robotics and Mark Kohnen, Heating, Ventilation and Air Conditioning (HVAC).

Approximately 100 high school students were in attendance and schools who attended were:  Okawville High School, Patoka High School; Salem High School and St. Elmo High School.

For more information about upcoming Career Days, please contact Patricia Mefford at 618-545-3067.

Students attending from Okawville were:  Kaleb Bowers, Wyatt Krohne, Kaleb Moore, Allen Mueth, Bryleigh Prest, Shaye Sawicki, Amy Koch, Erin Wiedwilt, Gabrial Loquasto, Austin Hart, Samantha Taylor, Heather Strasburg, Ashley Langenstein, Eddie Johnston, Cameron Hufker, Aaron Anderson,Brynn Schneider, Bailee Beck, Thomas Magnuson, Owen Hevner, Brendan Phillips, Victor Dominguez Detmer, Nicholas Rulevish, Toryn Stevenson, Eric Mattingly, Jeffery Frantz, Drew McDonald, Ethan Bening, Andrew Brennfleck, Justin Wilson, Brendan Cronin, Caleb Unverfehrt, Ethan Kolweier, Nathan Lintker, Nathan Middendorff, Braden Meyer, Josh Koerkenmeier, and Brandon Lischer.