Property Tax 101: What Do The Different Parts Of By Tax Bill Mean?

April 23, 2018

Week 7 of 13 By Bob Watt, Jefferson County Treasurer

 Question:  What do the different parts of my tax bill mean?

Answer:  Your tax bill has a lot of helpful information that can seem overwhelming at first glance. Below is a breakdown of each section of your property tax bill and what information you can find in each section.
A. Yellow Section: These are your payment stubs that you turn in with your payment. This is where you can find due dates, total amount due and your parcel number.
B. Blue Section: This section shows which districts you are being taxed for and how much of your total tax amount goes to each district.
C. Green Section: This column will show you all of the exemptions you are receiving, property assessments, and how much acreage you are being taxed for.
D. Purple Section: Helpful phone numbers can be found here, as well as the website to pay your taxes online.
E. Red Section: This section shows the amount that is due for each installment, along with the due dates. This is also where your bill will be stamped “paid”.
F. Orange Section: This section lists billing address, property address and an abbreviated legal description of the property being taxed.
“If you have any questions, or would like more information, please contact our office at 618-244-8010. We are here to help in any way we can.”
Next week: Different Sections of the Mobile Home Bill