Jefferson County Chamber Of Commerce Annual Banquet

April 10, 2018

On Friday, April 6 the Jefferson County Chamber of Commerce held their Annual Awards Banquet at the DoubleTree by Hilton in Mt. Vernon. This year’s Chamber Award winners were honored during the event. Award winners honored were Emma Jean Hawthorn for Citizen of the Year, Medicine Shoppe Owner Eric Black as Young Professional of the Year,  Accountant Steven Tate as Ambassador of the Year, Dr. Kevin Settle for the President’s Award, and Litton Ambulance Service Owner Angie Litton for Small Business Person of the Year.

Six $500 Teacher’s Grants were awarded to the following area teachers for use in their classrooms: Janet Dickey of Opdyke-Belle Rive Grade School, Mark Drennan of Mt. Vernon Township High School, Erin Hart of Dr. Nick Osborn Primary Center, Amy Hayes of Summersville Grade School, Karla Rutherford of JL Buford Intermediate Education Center, and Tracie Steward of Bluford Unit School.

Justin Huff of Mt. Vernon High School and Alexis Scrivner of Webber High School were chosen as Student of the Year winners. These two area high school seniors each won a $1,200 scholarship to the colleges of their choice.

Small Business Person of the Year – Angie Litton (Litton Ambulance Service Owner)
Citizen of the Year – Emma Jean Hawthorn
Young Professional of the Year – Eric Black (Medicine Shoppe)
Ambassador of the Year – Accountant Steven Tate
President’s Award – Dr. Kevin Settle
Students of the Year – Justin Huff 
Students of the Year – Alexis Scrivner 
Friend of the Chamber – Benny Harmse

Board Members Reiring – Tony Wielt, Paul Lynch, Joe Gliosci, Larry Lyday

Rend Lake College Foundation CEO Kay Zibby-Damron accepts a student scholarship check from Chamber President Tony Wielt.